5 reasons why I want to go to university

There is loads to say about school systems all over the world, but I won’t venture into that. I don’t know nearly enough of systems other than the Dutch system to talk about that without saysing stuff that most likely doesn’t make any sense. I want to talk to you about why I still go to school even though what I really want to become is a writer, and you don’t need to go to university in order to become a writer. I still go to school for a couple of reasons, some I’m more proud of than others. So let’s start:

1. Safety.
Oh lords, I know, I know. We all want safety, and we all need some kind of safety in the end. I’m scared of everything failing: I won’t become an author or anything else that might involve some of my passions, and then what? Even though I want to say I don’t care about money and the only thing I want to do is that what makes me happy: I’m afraid it’s not. I’m willing to do anything, really, to persue my dreams. But having a diploma that gives me somewhat a chance of a “real job” brings my mind at ease. I admire those who chase after their dreams right away, without having a safety net, but I don’t think I could do that. I don’t want to do that, to be honest.

2. Privilege
I know I will end my univisersity years with debt. There’s no doubt in that. But I’m still so priviliged to be able to study and I don’t want to say no to that. Just thinking about all the girls (and boys, I know, but in many cases it’s girls) who won’t get the chance to do so, and also thinking about how it used to be only boys who studied, I want to study.

3. Goals.
In case you’re wondering: yes, I certainly do intend on changing the world. I know there are many people who’ll call me naive for a comment like that, but at least let me try. I want to be an author, but I want to do so much more. I’ve not yet figured out what excactly, but having a diploma will probably come in handy at times.

4. Perfectionism.
I won’t settle for anything less then the highest possible achievement. I have always said I’m going to to university, so I will.

5. I want to learn.
Last but not least, I want to learn. There is so much to learn in this world, and I want to learn it all. I want to know why things are the way they are. I don’t know what I’m going to study next year, but it will be interesting. And it’s going to make me learn a whole lot. 5

I wanted to add to this list that I am by no means judging anybody. I love you if you go to university, I love you if you don’t and I also love you if you haven’t decided yet. These are just my personal reasons, nothing more.

Love

Comment

